Yaesu FT-7800R Remote Faceplate Mod

This is a copied post I made on hamforum.com back in March:

Anyway, just in case this will help someone else someday, I got the faceplate retainer off the front of the radio. And Radio Shack has cheaper (and shorter) straight through modular cables than the 50ft for $10.

So, for about $5, I have my own remote faceplate kit including the bracket to mount on the dashboard that I can clip and unclip my faceplate from.

To remove the faceplate retainer from the front of the radio:

  • remove faceplate
  • remove 2 screws exposed from removing faceplate
  • remove 2 screws on top of radio up by faceplate
  • remove 4 side screws (2 per side)
  • carefully work the radio cover up in the front about 1/8 to 1/4 inch.
  • (holding the radio body carefully in a vice will help. Be sure to hold it on the extra material for the radio mount, but this takes a really big vice. I did it without one)
    you’ll see that the only thing holding the faceplate retainer is that the center of the lip fits over a tiny tab right in the center of the top about 1/8 inch in from the front of the radio.
  • pull faceplate retainer off the tab, let cover fall back in place, replace screws.
  • if you intermixed your screws, they should all be the same except for two. The two different ones were the faceplate retainer screws. They will bottom out before tightening, but that’s ok.
  • the two on the top up by where the faceplate retainer use to be will now screw in further than before, bending the top because the faceplate retainer lip acted as a shim, so be careful and don’t tighten these too much.

Hope that helps someone out someday… Very Happy

2 comments so far

  1. JJ Usher on

    We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our
    community. Your web site offered us with valuable
    information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  2. kitchen remodel escondido on

    First of all I would like to say superb blog!
    I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I’ve
    had trouble clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first
    10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any suggestions or tips? Kudos!


Leave a Reply

