…FT-7800R Portable…

I finally finished my portable setup!

IMG_0916

How portable? Well, the antenna, the pvc standoffs, the tripod base, the antenna cable, and the power cable all break down to fit in a croquet bag. The radio, mic, manual, and logbook all fit in a little fanny pack. To protect the radio in the fanny pack, it slides into a foam filter for a wet/dry vacuum.

IMG_0932

It’s a Yaesu FT-7800R with Anderson Power Pole connectors and 10ft of cable. To connect to a power source, I have 3 options: Connect to a car with a RigRunner (my wife’s Jeep, my Jeep). Connect to any car with the cigarette lighter adapter (not for extended operations, really just emergency use). Connect straight to a battery with the mini jumper cable adapter.

The antenna cable is 15ft of RG-6 coax, with the appropriate ends soldered/crimped on.

IMG_0937

The antenna is an Arrow Antenna OSJ 146/440 J-Pole. I paid the extra money to have the long element break down into 3 pieces. Both removable thirds of the long element screw into the angle bracket base for storage.

IMG_0930

The tripod base is an old rocket launcher made by a company no longer in business. Someone really should get the rights to this and make these again! Best part is that I didn’t have to modify the tripod at all, so I can still use it as a rocket launcher when I move back to the mainland… (no real rocket activity out here on Oahu).

To stand the antenna off from the tripod, I used a couple sections of pvc. If I need the antenna higher, I simple add another section.

IMG_0927

The whole thing needs less than 5 minutes to set up, and occupies very little space in the back of the Jeep. To take it elsewhere, simply put on the fannypack and throw the croquet bag over your shoulder. It’s all very light.

4 comments so far

  1. Glenn Dixon on

    What is the advantage of the 5-element vs. 3-element j-pole?

  2. Ty - KB7UZO on

    Hi, Looks really cool! Can you send me more information on the antenna on the black bag. I have made one with a single long whip, but looks like yours is cut into thirds, and mount along the angle bracket.

    Any info would be great, nice site by the way!!!

    73,
    Ty – KB7UZO

  3. type ninja quiz on

    Created in USA – 36 Month Warranty.


Leave a Reply

