…joined EARC…

…Well, it’s been a year since I was licensed, and I finally made it to a club meeting (www.EARCHI.org). I’ve had every intention of joining for quite some time, but only recently got around to it.

My first meeting was great. They did a PSK31 demonstration that was quite interesting. Definitely has some gears turning for me. I also picked up some cool stuff at the swap/shop after.

I picked up an inexpensive dual band mag mount mobile antenna (Jetstream JTM2P), some Power Pole connectors, a Power Pole power panel (Saratoga PP4), along with some wire and adapter connectors. So, it was a very productive evening.

Also, if you are out here in Hawaii, you know that parts are hard to come by, and shipping is expensive… Well, check out NH7QH’s store: http://www.d-starhawaii.com/store.html

I was able to purchase the items online, send payment via PayPal, and he delivered them to the meeting the next night.

I’ve also signed on for NCS (Net Control Station) training. So, I’ll be able to help out with the nightly nets. Tonight, I’m going to check in via mobile to test the new antenna tx/rx. Next, I just have to figure out how invasively I want to setup the FT-7800R in my wife’s Liberty. I want to keep it portable, so permanent mounting is out, atleast for the main radio. I currently have the radio sitting under the drivers seat, with the removeable head sitting out on the console. It works well enough for a temporary setup, but I want something between temporary and full install… We’ll see…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

